Russian occupants promise to launch suburban train from Melitopol to Dzhankoi


After “nationalization” of railways on occupied territory of Zaporizhzhia oblast, Russian occupants created “state enterprise “Melitopol Railways” and promise to launch suburban train from Melitopol to Dzhankoi in occupied Crimea.

“Director” of “Melitopol railways” Oleksii Yefremov revealed occupants’ plans about railway transportation, as reported by the Center for Journalist Investigations. 

Pilot launch of train Melitopol-Dzhankoi is scheduled for the 1st of July. “One pair of passenger trains, three cars in each train, 80 places in the car”, in accordance with Yefremov’s statement, quoted by Russian propagandists. 

It should be noted that Andrii Trofimov, so-called “deputy head of Zaporizhzhia Oblast Military and Civic Administration”, informed about creation of state enterprise “Melitopol Railways” on temporary occupied territory of Zaporizhzhia oblast at the end of May. He emphasized that railways are necessary to connect with occupied territories of Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts and to supply construction materials and other goods there. Another reason is more convenient logistics to take out stolen grain and property of industrial enterprises from temporary occupied territories of Zaporizhzhia oblast. 

Photo of so-called “director” of “Melitopol railways” was not published but we know that person with the same name (Oleksii Mykhailovych Yefremov) worked as deputy general director of “State enterprise “Donetsk Railways. It was created on the basis of property stolen from “Ukrainian Railways” on the occupied territory of Donetsk oblast. Similar state enterprise was also set up by occupants in the occupied part of Luhansk oblast. As the CJI earlier reported, so-called “head of Zaporizhzhia Oblast Military and Civic Administration” Yevhen Balytsky promised “to nationalize” all strategic objects in oblast, including railways. 

Material is prepared by non-profit «Information press center» within IWPR project under the support of the European Union and the Royal Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.